Home News Electoral Commission Axes 5 And Clears 12 Presidential Aspirants To Contest In...

Electoral Commission Axes 5 And Clears 12 Presidential Aspirants To Contest In The 2020 General Elections


Ghana goes to the polls coming December 7, 2020 and as part of the preparation toward the election, political parties are obliged to file in their nominations to contest in the election.

READ ALSO: My ‘Obia Wo Ne Master’ Song Is Bigger Than Shatta’s Entire Generation – Yaa Pono Brags

However, according to the EC Out of the total 17 aspirants who submitted their nomination forms to be considered as presidential candidates, the Commission cleared 12 and disqualified 5 of them.

To the surprise of the general public, Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party passed all the requirement and qualified to contest the coming election.

READ ALSO: ‘No More Hip Pad’ Benedicta Gafah Drops Aftermath Gym Session Photos Of Her New Booty (Photos)

12 Presidential aspirants qualified to contest are below:

Alfred Walker; an independent candidate,

President Akufo-Addo – New Patriotic Party (NPP)

Christian Andrews – The Ghana Union Movement (GUM)

Brigitte Dzogbenuku – People’s Progressive Party (PPP)

John Dramani Mahama – National Democratic Congress (NDC)

Akua Donkor – Ghana Freedom Party

Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings – National Democratic Party (NDP)

Hassan Ayariga – All People’s Congress

Ivor Kobina Greenstreet – Convention Peoples Congress (CPP)

Kofi Akpaloo – Liberal Party of Ghana

David Apasera – People’s National Convention (PNC)

Henry Herbert Lartey – Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP).

READ ALSO: Kumawood Actor, Wayoosi Flaunts His Beautiful ‘Girlfriend’ On Social Media For The First Time

The 5 other aspirant disqualified due to certain underlining issues are also below:

The aspirants affected include independent candidates Kofi Koranteng, Marricke Kofi Gane, Akwasi Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP), Kwesi Busumburu of the People’s National Party (PNP) and the United Front Party’s (UFP) Agyenim Boateng.

Reasons for their disqualification

According to the EC, Their cases are centered on allegations of forgery of signatures and the manufacturing of endorses which will be forwarded to the Police Criminal Investigation Department (CID) for further probe.

READ ALSO: Videos Of The Twerking Competition At Shatta Wale’s 36th Birthday Party Surface Online | Watch

Addressing the media, the EC Chairperson, Jean Mensa stressed that their decision was based on the verification and authentication reports it received from its technical team.

Meanwhile, the EC indicated that the ¢100,000 filing fee will be refunded to all disqualified aspirants in line with the rules surrounding the process.